top of page

Buddhism & its teachings

The mind is everything. What you think you become!!

Buddhism is the world’s fourth largest religion encompassing various traditions, beliefs and spiritual practices largely based on original teachings attributed to Gautam Buddha. It was this man who found enlightenment and gave birth to this spiritual tradition of Buddhism. Gautam Buddha explained the essence of Buddhism through The Four Noble Truths and the Noble Eightfold Path as a means to end all kinds of suffering. So, here I have brought you the major principles and propositions of Buddhism to make you more aware of the religion.

Four Noble Truths of Buddhism

  1. The Truth of Suffering(Dukkha) which manifests the idea of sorrows and suffering in a human’s life. Suffering is a part of your life from the time of birth until you die.

  2. The Truth of the Origin of suffering(Samudāya) which has its inception in greed & worldly desires.

  3. The Truth of the Cessation of suffering(Nirodha) – The only way to end this suffering & be happy is to conquer your greed and aversion.

  4. The Truth of the Path Of Liberation(Magga) – In this principle, lies the theory of The Noble Eightfold Path which is the only way to end your suffering and attain harmony in life.

The Noble Eightfold path

  1. Right View – You must have a crystal clear and right point of view to achieve something in life. Vague ideas become a hindrance in the path to success.

  2. Right Intention – You must have the right thought and intention of love and non-violence extended to all living beings. Your righteous thoughts will clearly reflect your wisdom and noble qualities.

  3. Right Speech – Think before you speak. Through right speech, restrain yourself from using verbal abuse, lies, hatred, or blame.

  4. Right Action – Actions speak louder than words. This principle points out how you should take responsibility for your actions and indulge in good deeds.

  5. Right Livelihood – This principle emphasizes how you should be engaging in work that is fulfiling for yourself and also for society.

  6. Right Effort – All your efforts should be towards the good for living beings and clearly preventing evil from rising.

  7. Right Mindfulness – Be present and observe the patterns of your body and mind. It will enable you to have peaceful thoughts and maintain your temper.

  8. Right Concentration – Concentrate the mind on the present moment and get into a regular practice of meditation. This will help you to achieve higher levels of success in life.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page